The Blog and the Bullet

An Aggregator On The Best Blogs Concerning Racial Issues, White Supremacy, and Other Radical Musings

Announcement: Body Images

Posted by Jack Stephens on October 31, 2007

I just posted a blog on Double Consciousness that I want people, hopefully women of color, to respond to.  Thanks.

Since I’m the Educational Development officer for this student activist org. I’m apart of at San Francisco State University I always need to keep myself attuned to the needs of the membership.  We’ve done workshops on immigration, the Third World Liberation Front SF State student strikes, an upcoming one on white privilege, and a workshop in November on the basics of the capitalist system.  However I’ve been noticing among the membership issues on body image.  Specifically people being influence by white mainstream (fascist) standards of beauty.  So for next semester I’m going to get a hold of some fellow radicals to put on a workshop on white supremacist beauty standards and how it effects women of color and others in this American society.

Does anyone out there have any resources and blogs, blog posts, books, articles, etc. that they could share with me.  You can contact me here.  Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
