The Blog and the Bullet

An Aggregator On The Best Blogs Concerning Racial Issues, White Supremacy, and Other Radical Musings

Exotic

Posted by Jack Stephens on May 24, 2007

Frances M. writes:

This weekend I had a customer at work come up to me and say “you’re so exotic looking, what are you.” Granted she was smiling & I suppose trying to compliment. But it got me thinking about what the term exotic to the mainstream American mind.

It’s hard to know how to react when people say “you’re so beautiful…exotic…what are you?” I know they’re in part trying to compliment so I don’t want to be all bitchy about it but on the other hand ignorance is not my shade of bliss & if I can prevent another person going though the silliness of such questions, I’d perhaps want to try. Well I’m off to have pizza with my beautiful & just plum pretty girlfriend. Thank goddess she she’s my soul & not just my skin!

One Response to “Exotic”

  1. r.m. said

    I’m glad you’re bringing those up.
    I spoke about this in a speech against racism, in which I stated: I am not an exotic woman. Ironically, after the speech, a European-American male in the audience told me, “I know you don’t like the term, but, still, you are exotic.”
    sigh

    Check it out, if interested: http://www.isreview.org/issues/19/RaniaMasri.shtml

    -Rania M
    http://www.greenresistance.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

 
