The Blog and the Bullet

An Aggregator On The Best Blogs Concerning Racial Issues, White Supremacy, and Other Radical Musings

Archive for July 6th, 2008

Freedom and Labor in Latina/o USA

Posted by Jack Stephens on July 6, 2008

Profe, of LatinoLikeMe.com, blogs on democracy, freedom, and labor:

It is through this process of analysis that I make sense of the daily experiences of immigrant labor in this nation. When I say this, I do not only mean undocumented labor. The Southern Poverty Law Center provides a beautifully-detailed report on legal guestworker programs in place in the United States. “Close to Slavery” is a reminder of the brutal ways a government’s protection of the “rights” of an elite group of business interests–in the name of free market capitalism–sacrifices the humanity of hundreds of thousands of others.

Posted in Capitalism, Class, Contemporary Racism, Government, Latina/o Issues, White Supremacy | Leave a Comment »

My Black Friend

Posted by Jack Stephens on July 6, 2008

Renee blogs:

How much longer do white people believe they can use the I have a “black friend” card to cover their clearly racist behaviour? I would like to know the name of the black kid that goes around befriending racists so that I can smack him. Really though, I think I have finally figured out the mystery of the black friend…he/she is imaginary aren’t they? …Yep, your “pretend buddy” that you can whip out every time the word racist is thrown your way.

Posted in Contemporary Racism, Racism, Whiteness | Leave a Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.