The Blog and the Bullet

An Aggregator On The Best Blogs Concerning Racial Issues, White Supremacy, and Other Radical Musings

Archive for May 12th, 2007

“My Privilege Is Of My Making You Lazy Bastard!”

Posted by Jack Stephens on May 12, 2007

BetaCandy blogs:

One of the most annoying privilege memes I’ve ever dealt with is “Anyone can get rich in this great country; if they don’t, it means they’re just not working hard enough.” I encountered this meme almost daily as a kid growing up in a highly conservative “red state” in the US, but I imagine there are variations of it all over the world. The basic idea: “This society is working out great for me; if it’s not for you, that might mean we need to make changes, and that could mean I would lose something, and I don’t want to, so I’m going to blame you. If this society isn’t working for you, it’s your fault.”

Posted in Capitalism, Class | Leave a Comment »

“My Privilege Is Of My Making You Lazy Bastard!”

Posted by Jack Stephens on May 12, 2007

BetaCandy blogs:

One of the most annoying privilege memes I’ve ever dealt with is “Anyone can get rich in this great country; if they don’t, it means they’re just not working hard enough.” I encountered this meme almost daily as a kid growing up in a highly conservative “red state” in the US, but I imagine there are variations of it all over the world. The basic idea: “This society is working out great for me; if it’s not for you, that might mean we need to make changes, and that could mean I would lose something, and I don’t want to, so I’m going to blame you. If this society isn’t working for you, it’s your fault.”

Posted in Capitalism, Class | Leave a Comment »

Carnival of Radical Feminists

Posted by Jack Stephens on May 12, 2007

The first ever Carnival of Radical Feminists has been published on the blog Women’s Space/The Margins:

As those of you who have been patiently waiting have observed, putting the First Carnival of Radical Feminists together became far more intense and complex — and time-consuming — a project for me than I had anticipated it would be. It was important to me to at least attempt to lay as solid a foundation for future radical feminist carnivals as I could, to establish a framework which would ground what we post to these carnivals in the work of radical feminist visionaries, leaders, pioneers, herstory and theory-making while continuing to make room for creativity, challenges, and new and different ideas. I wanted women reading to find as many opportunities to connect and engage with what we are offering as a community as possible, not only radical feminist women, but all women and men of good intentions and good will, no matter what their experiences with, or knowledge of, radical feminism have been until now. At the same time, I wanted what is offered to be, again, grounded in the work and thought of radical feminist women.

Posted in Carnival, Male Supremacy, People of Color, Racism, Radical Feminism, Radicalism, White Supremacy, Women of Color | 1 Comment »

Carnival of Radical Action

Posted by Jack Stephens on May 12, 2007

Slyvia announces a new blog carnival, The Carnival of Radical Action:

This carnival will be about sharing strategies more than finding a “right” answer. In the world we face today where there are so many intersecting forms of oppression, one answer will not fit every community. But something that worked for one community might work for another if they alter it and adjust it to suit their own needs.

Posted in Carnival, Organizing, Radicalism | Leave a Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.